Learn How To Apply For Section 8 Program With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Get the Guide

Learn About Section 8 Requirements in Wyoming

The Section 8 requirements in Wyoming are determined by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), which provides funding for this program. Public housing agencies (PHAS) are responsible for taking applications and administering vouchers at the local level. Each housing agency is a separate organization, meaning that it can set its own rules on top of the HUD regulations.

If you meet the Section 8 qualifications, you need to prove your eligibility during the application process. Upon being approved for a voucher, it is your responsibility to find a suitable unit to rent. Rentals must meet a variety of Section 8 housing requirements before you are allowed to move in. Below, learn more about your Section 8 eligibility and the other rules for this program.

What are the Section 8 requirements in Wyoming?

The main Section 8 qualifications relate to your income, family status, citizenship status and history with other rental programs. First, your household needs to have what is known as family status. A family can be a single person who:

  • Is a senior.
  • Has a disability.
  • Was displaced from home.
  • Is the remaining member of a tenant family.

If you are single and do not fall into one of the categories above, you may still be eligible for assistance if you meet the other program requirements. You will also count as a family if your household has two or more people who live together. Your Section 8 housing eligibility is not affected by factors such as your marital status, sexual orientation or whether you have children.

To meet the Section 8 requirements in Wyoming, at least one person in your household needs to be in the U.S. legally. This program is open to U.S. citizens as well as certain categories of immigrants. Note that the amount of assistance your family receives will depend on the number of household members who are in the U.S. legally.

It is important to be aware that your residency does not affect your eligibility. You can meet the Section 8 qualifications in Wyoming regardless of whether you are a resident of the state. However, PHAs sometimes give preference to local applicants. This might affect how quickly you are able to get assistance.

PHAs may also base your Section 8 housing eligibility on your criminal history and your history with other housing programs. You may not be able to get assistance from this program if you have outstanding debts with other housing authorities or if you committed program violations in the past. A violent criminal history or registration as a sex offender might exclude you from this program as well.

What are the Wyoming Section 8 income limits?

Under the Section 8 income guidelines, you usually must earn less than 50 percent of the median area income in order to be eligible for a voucher. A PHA may allow you to qualify with an income up to 80 percent of the area median. However, this is less common.

When learning about the Section 8 income limits in Wyoming, it helps to understand that housing authorities are required to save most of their vouchers for families that earn no more than 30 percent of the median income. This rule makes it easier for families with the lowest income to receive assistance more quickly.

Keep in mind that the Section 8 income guidelines are subject to change. If you are not eligible now, you may be able to qualify in the future if the limits are updated. Furthermore, the requirements can vary from one part of the state to the next. Learn more about Section 8 requirements by reading our full guide here.

Which documents do I need to meet Section 8 requirements in Wyoming?

You will need to verify that you meet the Section 8 requirements at some point during the application process. Depending on your PHA’s rules, you may need to provide documents with your initial application or with your final application when you are chosen for a voucher.

The documents you need to prove your Section 8 qualifications may vary depending on your situation. It is common to need the following:

  • Birth certificates
  • Social Security cards
  • Immigration paperwork, if applicable
  • Photo identification
  • Tax returns or pay stubs
  • Benefit award letters, if applicable

You usually need documents for each person in your household. If you cannot verify the Section 8 eligibility of everyone in your family, you may not be able to get assistance.

Which Wyoming Section 8 housing requirements do I have to meet?

If you meet the Section 8 requirements and receive a voucher, finding a suitable place to rent is the next step in the process. You are free to choose any type of housing that you want, such as:

  • Studio apartment
  • Regular apartment
  • Duplex
  • Townhome
  • Single-family home

Once you select a unit, your PHA will perform an inspection. If the unit does not meet the Section 8 housing requirements after the first inspection, a landlord might be given the chance to make repairs so it can pass a second inspection.

PHAs also check that units are rented at a fair rate and that they are owned by landlords willing to participate in the program. Unfortunately, not all landlords will accept vouchers.

Note: If your current home meets all of the program requirements, you may be able to use your voucher where you live now.

What happens if I don’t meet the Section 8 qualifications?

In the event you do not meet the Section 8 requirements in Wyoming, you will receive a written notification. PHAs give you an opportunity to appeal decisions that you do not agree with. In some cases, you might have another opportunity to apply for assistance after receiving a denial.

Keep in mind that the Section 8 income limits and other requirements differ depending on the program. If you are denied assistance, it is possible you will still qualify for a different type of program. Some PHAs have more than one type of rental assistance service. There may also be community groups or local charities that offer similar services.