Learn How To Apply For Section 8 Program With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Get the Guide

Learn About Section 8 Requirements in South Dakota

The Section 8 requirements in South Dakota are determined by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) as well as public housing agencies (PHAs). The HUD sets most of the main eligibility requirements, while PHAs are free to add their own rules. Generally, housing agencies use waiting lists when there are not enough vouchers available for every eligible family.

If you meet the basic Section 8 qualifications, you will usually be eligible for placement on a PHA’s waiting list. In some cases, you might be able to receive assistance right away if you meet the program requirements. Read below to learn more about your Section 8 housing eligibility and find out how to get approved for a voucher.

What are the Section 8 requirements in South Dakota?

Your Section 8 eligibility is based on your legal presence in the U.S., family status and income. To start, you need to have what is known as family status. The HUD defines a family as:

  • A single person who is a senior, has a disability or was displaced from home.
  • A single person who is the last remaining member of a tenant family.
  • Any other single person who meets the eligibility criteria.
  • Two or more people who live together, with or without children.

Note that if you are a student enrolled in a college or university, there are limited scenarios in which you can get approved for a housing choice voucher. Even if you meet the Section 8 income limits as a college student, you can only have family status if you meet other criteria. For example, you may need to be over a certain age, be married or have children.

Next, at least one member of your family needs to be a U.S. citizen, U.S. national or legally present immigrant. Some, but not all, categories of immigration will qualify you for this program.

If some members of your household do not meet the Section 8 requirements for legal presence, your assistance will be prorated. In other words, the amount of assistance you receive is based on the number of household members who are in the U.S. legally. In any case, everyone in your household needs to have a Social Security Number (SSN).

Additionally, you can only meet the Section 8 qualifications if you are in good standing with other PHAs and housing programs. If you owe any debts to housing agencies or have faced issues such as eviction from public housing in the past, it may hurt your chances of qualifying for assistance.

PHAs may have other requirements on top of the basic HUD rules. For example, many housing authorities will require that you submit to a background check or a credit check before you can qualify.

What are the South Dakota Section 8 income limits?

According to the Section 8 income guidelines, you can only qualify for assistance if you earn less than 50 percent of the median income for your area. Under this program, your income will be compared with the median in your county, city or other area rather than the state as a whole. This is because incomes can vary from one region to the next.

If you earn less than 30 percent of the median for your area, you might be able to get rental assistance more quickly. This is because PHAs are required by law to reserve most of their vouchers for families with the lowest incomes.

Note that HUD may update the Section 8 income limits annually. If you did not meet the requirements in the past, you may find that you are eligible now. Learn more about Section 8 income guidelines by reading our guide here.

Which documents do I need to meet Section 8 requirements in South Dakota?

You need to verify your Section 8 housing eligibility by showing the PHA certain documents. At some point during the application process, you will need to prove your identity, income, legal presence and other eligibility factors. Documents that may satisfy these requirements include:

  • Birth certificates
  • Pay stubs or bank records
  • Benefit award letters
  • Photo identification cards
  • Social Security card

If you meet certain criteria, you may need to provide additional documentation. For example, if you are elderly or disabled, you may need to show the PHA proof of your medical expenses for special income consideration.

In any case, you will need to provide Section 8 eligibility documents for everyone in your household. If you cannot verify certain information, such as each family member’s SSN, you might not be able to receive a voucher.

Which South Dakota Section 8 housing requirements do I have to meet?

Once you are approved for a voucher, you must locate a rental unit that meets your PHA requirements. You may find that your current housing is eligible for rental assistance.

If you are not able to use your HUD vouchers on your current rental home, it is necessary to move somewhere new. Under the Section 8 housing requirements, the unit you choose must be:

  • Rented by a landlord willing to take Section 8.
  • Leased at a fair rate compared to other units.
  • Able to pass a health and safety inspection.

Note that your PHA may or may not require you to rent a unit located within its service area. The requirements vary depending on where you lived when your voucher was issued.

What happens if I don’t meet the Section 8 qualifications?

Your local PHA will issue a letter of denial if you are not eligible for assistance. The notification will usually include instructions for requesting an appeal.

It is important to note that there is usually a deadline for appealing PHA decisions. However, in the event you do not meet the Section 8 requirements in South Dakota, it is possible you will be eligible for a different program.

The Section 8 income limits and other requirements may be different from those for other types of rental assistance. Many PHAs have more than one type of program, and you may find a variety of resources from local charities and organizations.