Learn How To Apply For Section 8 Program With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Get the Guide

Learn About Section 8 Requirements in Rhode Island

The Section 8 requirements in Rhode Island are set by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) as well as public housing agencies (PHAs). This program receives federal funding from the HUD but is administered locally by PHAs. As a result, housing authorities can set their own rules and requirements in addition to those laid out by the federal department.

If you meet the Section 8 qualifications, it usually means that you will be eligible for placement on a waiting list. Most PHAs use a waiting list for new applicants due to the fact that there are usually more families in need of help than there are vouchers available.

In any case, a full Section 8 eligibility check will be made necessary once you are selected for a voucher. Read below to learn more about your Section 8 housing eligibility in Rhode Island and find out if you qualify.

What are the Section 8 requirements in Rhode Island?

In order to have Section 8 housing eligibility, your household needs to meet the HUD’s definition of “family.” Families can either be composed of a single person or two or more people who live together.

In general, you do not need to be married, have children or meet other similar requirements to count as a family. Depending on your situation, your family may be categorized as:

  • Having a disability.
  • Being a senior.
  • Having been displaced from home.

Next, at least one person in your family needs to be a U.S. citizen, U.S. national or an eligible immigrant. In order to meet full Section 8 eligibility, everyone in your family needs to be in the U.S. legally. While you can still meet the Section 8 qualifications with one legal resident, the amount of assistance you receive will be prorated.

In addition to meeting the legal presence requirements, everyone in your household needs to have a Social Security Number (SSN). Overall, you will need to undergo SSN verification for each person who is over a certain age.

In order to meet the requirements for Section 8 eligibility in Rhode Island, you also need to be in good standing with other government housing and PHA programs. If you owe any outstanding debts to a housing authority or you have been evicted from a program such as public housing, it may affect your eligibility.

Keep in mind that local housing agencies can always set additional requirements. For example, a PHA may base your Section 8 housing eligibility on things such as:

  • Rental history
  • Credit history
  • Criminal history

Learn more about the Section 8 requirements by reading our comprehensive guide here.

What are the Rhode Island Section 8 income limits?

The Section 8 income guidelines require that you earn no more than 50 percent of the median income for your area. This usually only includes your city or county due to the fact that income levels vary around the state. Some PHAs may allow you to qualify with an income up to 80 percent of the median, but you usually need to meet additional requirements.

You have a higher chance of being approved for a voucher if your income is less than 30 percent of the median for your area. This is because PHAs save most of their vouchers for families with an extremely low income. Housing authorities do this in order to help families with the greatest need for assistance first.

Note that these income requirements are always subject to change. The HUD publishes new Section 8 income limits each year, which may mean that you are able to qualify in the future if you do not meet the requirements now.

Which documents do I need to meet Section 8 requirements in Rhode Island?

Local housing authorities must verify that you meet the Section 8 qualifications when you sign up for assistance. In most cases, you need to pass an initial eligibility check to be placed on a waiting list. During this stage of the process, you may or may not need to provide documentation.

In any case, you should plan on having your Section 8 eligibility documents ready when your name is selected from a waiting list. PHAs may need to see any of the following paperwork to check your qualifications:

  • Proof of citizenship or legal presence
  • Social Security card or other SSN verification
  • Birth certificate
  • Photo identification
  • Proof of income, such as bank statements or pay stubs

You typically need to sign a consent form that allows the PHA to verify your eligibility through other methods as well. For example, a housing authority may contact banks or employers to check your income.

Which Rhode Island Section 8 housing requirements do I have to meet?

After passing a Section 8 eligibility check, you may be issued a housing choice voucher. Once you have a voucher, it is your responsibility to find a suitable home or apartment to rent. In some cases, you will be able to use your assistance where you currently live if you wish.

The apartment you choose needs to meet various Section 8 housing requirements before you can move in. First, the unit must be owned by a landlord willing to take vouchers. Unfortunately, not all landlords participate in this program.

Second, the home or apartment needs to pass a health and safety check. The PHA will inspect the unit to make sure that it is in decent, safe and sanitary condition. During the verification process, the housing authority will also ensure that the apartment is leased at a fair rate compared to other similar units.

What happens if I don’t meet the Section 8 qualifications?

A PHA will issue a denial letter if you are not qualified for assistance. You will have the opportunity to appeal the decision if you disagree. Depending on the reason you were denied, you might have the opportunity to reapply.

Keep in mind that if you do not meet the Section 8 requirements with one PHA, you may be able to get assistance from a different housing authority. Most PHAs also have more than one type of rental program, and the eligibility criteria for other services may vary. Some community groups and charities also provide rental help that you may qualify for.