Learn How To Apply For Section 8 Program With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Get the Guide

Learn About Section 8 Requirements in North Carolina

You must meet a variety of Section 8 requirements in North Carolina before you can receive assistance from the Housing Choice Voucher Program. This program is federally funded, but is administered at the local level by public housing agencies (PHAs) throughout the state. Therefore, the Section 8 eligibility requirements can vary slightly depending on the local PHA of your choice.

If you meet the required Section 8 qualifications in NC, you can start undergoing the application steps. However, keep in mind that this process can be long due to high demand. As a result, you may need to recertify that you still meet the Section 8 requirements once a voucher does become available. Read below to learn more about the qualifications you need to meet and discover which factors can affect your acceptance into this program.

What are the Section 8 requirements in North Carolina?

Your North Carolina Section 8 eligibility is based mainly on your income, family composition, citizenship status and other basic factors. However, depending on your circumstances, it is possible to qualify for assistance based on your income alone. If you are a senior, have a disability or were displaced from home, these factors can help you qualify as well.

In most cases, you can meet the requirements for Section 8 housing eligibility in NC as a family or as a single person. Generally, your family is not required to have children, and marital status does not affect your eligibility. However, in order to qualify as a single individual, you must generally be a senior, have a disability or be displaced from home.

In any case, you can only meet the North Carolina Section 8 requirements if you are a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national or a qualified alien. Furthermore, most PHAs require you to have a Social Security Number (SSN) to be eligible. You do not necessarily need to be a resident of North Carolina to apply for assistance in this state.

Because each PHA is in charge of its own program, the exact requirements can vary depending on the agency through which you apply. For example, some PHAs will require you to be employed and work a certain number of hours per week, unless you are a senior or have a disability.

If you meet a PHA’s Section 8 eligibility requirements, it is important to keep in mind that certain rental properties may have additional rules. For example, a landlord may screen tenants based on their rental and criminal history.

In general, the guidelines set by individual landlords may differ from the requirements set by PHAs. Therefore, you may need to meet additional criteria before you can move into a specific unit with your voucher.

What are the North Carolina Section 8 income limits?

The Section 8 income guidelines outline how much you can earn and still qualify for this program. Because incomes can vary greatly from one area to the next, your earnings will be compared with the median income where you live. The local area might include your city or county.

Generally speaking, the Section 8 income limits require that you earn no more than 50 percent of the median income for the area you live in. However, PHAs are required by law to save 75 percent of their vouchers for families who earn no more than 30 percent of the median income.

This means that you have a better chance of receiving a voucher if your income is below 30 percent of the median. It does not mean you will be unable to get a voucher with a higher income.

Instead, PHAs are more likely to assist families with the greatest financial needs first. Learn more about the requirements for this program by downloading our step-by-step guide.

Which documents do I need to meet Section 8 requirements in North Carolina?

To prove that you meet the Section 8 qualifications in NC, you will need to provide several types of documents to the PHA. Generally, you will need to verify things such as your identity, income, and family status. If your family has any special circumstances that affect your eligibility, you may need to gather additional paperwork that verifies those circumstances.

Overall, the types of documents needed to verify your Section 8 housing eligibility will vary depending on your situation and the preferences set by the local PHA. As an example, you may need to provide the following:

  • Photo ID
  • Birth certificate
  • Proof of SSN
  • Bank statements
  • Pay stubs
  • Proof of any other income source

Whenever possible, you should provide original or certified copies of your documents. In many cases, PHAs will not accept photocopies or uncertified copies.

Which North Carolina Section 8 housing requirements do I have to meet?

Once you meet the Section 8 requirements in North Carolina and are approved for a voucher, you will need to find housing that meets your PHA’s standards. It is your responsibility to find a suitable house or apartment to rent. In some cases, you may be able to use your voucher at your current home. Other times, you will need to look for a new unit to rent.

The unit you choose must meet the Section 8 housing requirements set by your PHA. The exact rules may vary, but in general, the unit you choose must:

  • Have enough bedrooms for a family of your size.
  • Be rented out by a landlord who takes Section 8 vouchers.
  • Meet health and safety standards.
  • Have a fair rental rate.

To ensure that your unit meets the Section 8 housing requirements, the PHA will inspect the home or apartment before you can move in. Keep in mind that annual inspections may be required to make sure the unit stays in acceptable condition for your family. In any case, you may utilize housing lists provided by local PHAs to assist you in your search.

What happens if I don’t meet the Section 8 qualifications?

If you do not meet the Section 8 requirements in North Carolina, the PHA will notify you that your application has been denied. Because the eligibility criteria may vary from one PHA to the next, you may find that you can qualify by applying through a different agency.

If you still do not qualify, there are other programs available to help you afford rent. For example, you may consider looking for housing with a rent subsidy.

There are a variety of publicly and privately-owned subsidized housing units that you may qualify for. If you are a senior, a veteran or a person with disabilities, you may also qualify for special rental assistance programs.