Learn How To Apply For Section 8 Program With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Get the Guide

Learn About Section 8 Requirements in New York

Section 8 eligibility in New York is based on a variety of factors. In order to qualify for this type of rental assistance, you typically need to have a low income or fall into another eligibility category. Other things, such as your citizenship or legal presence in the U.S., can play a role as well.

The Section 8 program, which is also known as the Housing Choice Voucher Program, is federally funded by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). However, it is administered by local public housing agencies (PHAs) throughout the state.

Therefore, the specific Section 8 requirements can vary depending on where you live. Read below to learn more about meeting the Section 8 qualifications in New York and find more information on how this program works.

What are the Section 8 requirements in New York?

In most cases, you can meet the New York Section 8 eligibility requirements based on your income alone, as well as a combination of other factors. Overall, it is possible to meet the Section 8 requirements as a single person or as a family.

Generally, families can qualify with or without children and regardless of marital status. If you do not meet the income requirements, your household generally must fall into one of the following categories:

  • You were involuntarily displaced from home.
  • You have a disability.
  • You are a senior or are nearly a senior.

Regardless of your family status, your Section 8 housing eligibility is also based on whether you are in the U.S. legally. Section 8 eligibility is limited to U.S. citizens, U.S. nationals and certain categories of legal aliens. At least one member of your family must be a legal resident in order to qualify.

It is important to understand that even if you meet the Section 8 requirements set by your PHA, you may also need to have additional qualifications to live in certain units. This is because landlords and property owners are allowed to screen rental candidates before leasing out a unit.

In certain rental properties, your eligibility might be based on your history as a tenant or other factors. In other words, once you are approved for a voucher under the Section 8 program, there may be additional criteria to meet before you can live in a certain unit.

What are the New York Section 8 income limits?

Meeting the Section 8 income guidelines is the next step before filing an application. Under this program, the income limits vary from one location to the next. Therefore, you will need to compare your income with the median income in your city or county, depending on where you live.

The Section 8 income limits are based on your family size and composition. In any case, your income must be no more than 50 percent of the median income for a family of your size in your area.

It is important to be aware that under the Section 8 income guidelines in New York, PHAs are required to reserve the majority of housing vouchers for applicants with an extremely low income. This means most vouchers are set aside for families that earn no more than 30 percent of the median income for the area.

Your income level may or may not impact how long it takes for you to get approved for a voucher. Because PHAs are required to save most vouchers for families with the lowest income, it is possible you will be granted assistance more quickly if your income is in the lower bracket. Learn more about how your income can affect your Section 8 eligibility by reading our comprehensive guide here.

Which documents do I need to meet Section 8 requirements in New York?

To prove that you meet the Section 8 requirements in New York, you will need to provide various documents as requested by the PHA. The exact paperwork you need will likely vary based on your situation. It is common that you will need to show the following:

  • Photo ID.
  • Birth certificate.
  • Tax returns.
  • Proof of income or employment.
  • Proof of disability or veteran status, if applicable.

If you have any special circumstances, additional types of paperwork may be required. When possible, you should try to provide certified or official copies of any requested documents. The PHA may also verify your Section 8 eligibility by going directly to employers, local agencies, banks and other sources.

Which New York Section 8 housing requirements do I have to meet?

Once you meet the Section 8 qualifications and receive a voucher, you must complete several other steps to use your voucher. It is up to you to find an apartment or home to rent.

It is important to be mindful that the landlord or property owner of the unit must also be willing to work with the Section 8 program and take your voucher. Generally, not all landlords are willing to participate in the program. If you are unsure of where to start, you may ask for a housing list to be provided by your local PHA.

Under the Section 8 housing requirements, you also are responsible for finding a rental that meets the HUD standards. The unit you choose must:

  • Have enough bedrooms or space for a family of your size.
  • Meet health and safety standards set by the PHA.
  • Have a reasonable rental rate.

The NY Section 8 housing requirements also outline your responsibilities as a tenant. Once you receive a voucher and begin renting, you must pay a portion of your monthly rental costs.

Furthermore, it is your responsibility to comply with the terms of your lease. This may include allowing the landlord to enter you unit to perform maintenance tasks.

Finally, you must agree to the PHA’s inspection requirements. To ensure that the unit still meets the Section 8 requirements, the PHA will usually do an annual inspection.

What happens if I don’t meet the Section 8 qualifications?

If you do not meet the Section 8 income limits or other qualifications, you may still be able to get assistance from other sources. New York has many different agencies and community groups that provide rental assistance.

For example, some organizations hold affordable housing lotteries. There are also various housing development corporations that provide lower-cost housing.

If you are a veteran or a senior citizen, additional options may exist for you. For example, the HUD-Veterans Affairs Supportive Housing (HUD-VASH) program may be an option if you are a veteran experiencing homelessness.