Learn How To Apply For Section 8 Program With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Get the Guide

Learn About Section 8 Requirements in Indiana

In order to receive a housing voucher, you must meet the Indiana Section 8 requirements for your area. While the program operates at the state level, vouchers are distributed by local public housing agencies (PHAs). In general, the federal government sets certain income and citizenship requirements.

Overall, be mindful that the precise income requirements depend on a local area’s average household income. When issuing vouchers, local PHAs take expenses, household composition, current housing status and local demand into account.

Most individuals who seek Section 8 eligibility are placed on a waiting list. As a general rule, PHAs have control over how the waiting list is set up, including whether it is a first-come, first-served system or whether it will prioritize certain applicants over others. Read below to learn more about the Section 8 qualifications in Indiana.

What are the Section 8 requirements in Indiana?

In order to receive a housing voucher, you should meet the Indiana Section 8 requirements in your area. Generally, the program takes into account the following information:

  • Household composition
  • Household income
  • Current housing status
  • Household expenses
  • Citizenship status

Additionally, some PHAs may prioritize applicants based on local preferences. For instance, some PHAs may prioritize giving vouchers to homeless veterans, while others may prioritize victims of domestic violence or the elderly.

It is important to read the Section 8 qualifications for your area carefully when you submit an application to determine where you fall on the priority list. It is also important to keep your information up to date, as changes to your income, household makeup and/or current housing status could change your priority status on the waiting list.

What are the Indiana Section 8 income limits?

The Indiana Section 8 income limits vary by neighborhood, which means that there is no one eligibility standard across the state. However, the federal Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), which funds the program, does calculate the maximum statewide income limits.

Generally, the Section 8 income guidelines specify that someone should earn no more than 50 percent of the average income in a given area to qualify for benefits. The majority of Section 8 recipients make less than 30 percent of the average household income for an area. In a few select cases, individuals can earn up to 80 percent of the average income for an area and still qualify.

To find out if you meet the Section 8 income limits, you should contact your local public housing agency. However, be mindful that someone in Indiana should typically make no more than $24,550 a year to receive benefits. Moreover, a three-person household should make no more than $31,600 a year.

Different counties in Indiana may have lower income requirements, but no county should have a higher income requirement. As such, you are encouraged to do your research regarding what the limits in your area are, and to determine if you are eligible for Section 8 housing based on your income.

Which documents do I need to meet Section 8 requirements in Indiana?

In order to receive a housing voucher, you must submit a filled-out application form and provide various documents verifying your Section 8 eligibility. In general, you must prove your income, citizenship, household expenses, current residency and more.

In order to prove that you meet the Section 8 housing requirements, expect to provide the following documents:

  • The Social Security Numbers (SSNs) of all household residents.
  • Bank statements of all household residents.
  • Asset statements of all household residents.
  • Proof of citizenship or legal residency for all household residents.
  • Proof of your current housing arrangement.
  • Proof of expenses, including bills and receipts for childcare, household bills, medical expenses and grocery expenses.

If you fail to provide the required documents proving that you meet the Section 8 qualifications with your application, your case may be delayed or denied. Therefore, it is important to make sure that you gather all the necessary documents when you submit your application.

Which Indiana Section 8 housing requirements do I have to meet?

If you receive HUD vouchers from this program, you must make sure that you research the Section 8 housing requirements before attempting to use these funds. As a general rule, you are not able to use a voucher on just about any properties.

The property you select must be reasonably priced for the area where it is located. This means that you cannot select a luxury apartment in an area with more affordable apartments available.

Additionally, the property of your choice must meet the safety standards of your local PHA and HUD. Your PHA performs inspections on properties before you are allowed to move in to ensure that the property meets Section 8 housing requirements for safety. For instance, the agency will determine if the windows are in good quality, if the locks are secure, if there is a risk of mold and other common issues that may be found in cheaper apartments.

Finally, the landlord for the property in question must accept Section 8 housing vouchers. Not all landlords are willing to accept these types of HUD vouchers, largely due to the fact that the PHA and HUD safety inspections are perceived as an additional hassle.

You can browse housing lists to find landlords that will accept Section 8 vouchers. However, you can also approach landlords on an individual basis and appeal to them. In some cases, you can convince a landlord who does not typically accept vouchers to accept yours if he or she believes that you will be a responsible and reliable tenant.

What happens if I don’t meet the Section 8 qualifications?

If you are not accepted for Section 8, you have the option to appeal your request. Typically, the steps to file an appeal will be detailed on the rejection form. You can also contact your PHA directly to ask about your case and inquire as to why you were denied.

If you were denied because you do not meet the Section 8 housing eligibility guidelines, you still have the option to reapply in the future if your financial situation changes. For example, if your income does not change but the income guidelines increase, you may be eligible for assistance the next year after your initial application.

Additionally, if you move you may qualify for assistance through your new local PHA. Keep a close eye on your local PHA’s eligibility guidelines in order to determine if you are eligible for benefits again.