Learn How To Apply For Section 8 Program With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Clear & Simple Information
Free Guide
Personalized Offers
Get the Guide

Learn About Section 8 Requirements in California

You must meet the Section 8 requirements in California before you can get assistance to pay for your rent through this program. Section 8, which is also known as the housing choice voucher program, is a type of assistance provided by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Even though the program is funded at the federal level, it is administered locally by public housing agencies (PHAs). Ultimately, the particular Section 8 qualifications are determined by each local PHA.

Section 8 eligibility is based on several different factors. Some of these requirements vary depending on where you live in California, while other qualifications are the same everywhere. To learn more about your Section 8 housing eligibility in CA and discover if you may qualify for assistance, read the sections below.

What are the Section 8 requirements in California?

The general Section 8 housing requirements are based on basic things such as your income, family composition, household size and citizenship status, among other factors. As such, many different types of households can qualify for assistance under this program.

You may meet the Section 8 housing guidelines as a single person who is a senior, have a disability or were displaced from home. However, you do not necessarily need to fall into one of these categories to qualify. If your household is composed of two or more people, your household is considered a family.

Moreover, your Section 8 eligibility is also based on whether you are in the U.S. legally. In general, this program is limited to people who are U.S. citizens, U.S. nationals or non-citizens who have a legal immigration status. It is possible that some members of your household can qualify for assistance if your family has a mix of legal and non-legal residents.

It is important to note that, in some cases, your rental history may affect your eligibility. It is not the PHA’s responsibility to verify whether applicants are suitable tenants. However, landlords and property owners are allowed to screen tenants before approving an applicant for a unit.

Therefore, even if you meet of the PHA requirements, it does not necessarily mean that a landlord or property owner will approve you for a rental unit. In addition, landlords may have their own specific Section 8 requirements, such as:

  • Your history of paying rent and utilities on time.
  • Drug-related criminal activity in your past.
  • Other criminal history that may affect the safety of other tenants.
  • History of being a responsible and respectful tenant in other rental units.

What are the California Section 8 income limits?

Meeting the California Section 8 income guidelines is the next step in qualifying for assistance under this program. Overall, it is important to understand that the specific Section 8 income limits will vary based on where you live in the state.

As a general rule, this program is open to applicants whose income is no greater than 50 percent of the median family income in the area. In other words, you usually can only qualify if your family earns 50 percent of what an average family in your city or county earns.

Under the Section 8 income guidelines in CA, it is important to understand that PHAs are required by law to reserve most of their vouchers for families and individuals with an extremely low income. You may be considered extremely low-income if you earn no more than 30 percent of the median income for the area.

In any case, be aware that the Section 8 income limits will vary based on your family size. The requirements are also subject to changes from one year to the next. Learn more about the income requirements for this program by reading our guide here.

Which documents do I need to meet Section 8 requirements in California?

In order to prove that you meet the Section 8 requirements in California, you will need to provide certain documentation. In most cases, you will need to verify details such as:

  • Identity
  • Age
  • Address
  • Income
  • Disability or veteran status, if applicable
  • Social Security Number (SSN)

Your Section 8 eligibility can be verified through several different types of documents. When you apply, the PHA may request that you provide birth certificates, photo IDs, tax returns, bank statements, employment records and other paperwork that can be used to check your information. In most cases, you will want to have certified or official copies of your paperwork whenever possible.

Which California Section 8 housing requirements do I have to meet?

Once you meet the Section 8 requirements and are approved for a voucher, you have several responsibilities to meet. Most importantly, you must find a suitable unit to rent.

Under this program, you have the freedom to choose a housing unit on the open rental market. However, you cannot just pick any available rental. Your unit you choose must meet these requirements:

  • Be leased by a landlord who is willing to work with the Section 8 program.
  • Meet certain health and safety standards determined by the PHA.
  • Have the appropriate number of bedrooms for a family of your size.

Note: It may be possible to use a voucher to help pay the rent where you currently live. To do so, your landlord must be willing to accept vouchers under this program.

To meet the Section 8 housing requirements, you may also be required to pay a portion of your rent each month. The PHA will explain these obligations to you once you receive a voucher.

What happens if I don’t meet the Section 8 qualifications?

If you fail to meet the Section 8 income limits or other program requirements, the PHA is required to notify you and provide an explanation of your denial. In turn, you have the right to request a hearing if you disagree with any decision made about your case.

In the event you do not meet the Section 8 requirements in California, you may consider seeking rental assistance from other sources. Many communities have local organizations that provide emergency assistance or ongoing rental help. If you are a veteran or senior citizen, there may also be special programs that you qualify for.